New England All-Stars

2009-10 New England Women's Div. II/III Hockey All-Stars & Awards

April 2, 2010
Media Contact: Mark Majewski (617) 373-3643

The New England Hockey Writers Division II/III Women’s New England All-Star team and awards have been finalized after careful deliberation from a panel of administrators and media throughout the region. This year’s banquet will be held on Tuesday, April 13 at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass. The banquet will start at 6 p.m. All awards and All-Star teams will be presented at the gala. All coaches, student-athletes, family members and friends are encouraged to attend Tuesday’s banquet. Contact Pete Souris at (781) 245-2122 for information on attending this event. Cost is $35 per person.

Trinity College senior goaltender Isabel Iwachiw was named New England’s Division II/III Women’s Player of the Year after stringing together an 18-5-2 mark. Iwachiw surrendered a mere 32 goals on 669 shots, bringing her goals against average to 1.22 while her save percentage rests at .952. On March 25, the New York, N.Y. native was voted the 2009-10 Laura Hurd Award winner, given to the top player in all of NCAA Division III women’s ice hockey as chosen by the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Iwachiw was also selected as an RBK Hockey College Division First Team East All-American in her final stint with the Bantams.

Mark Bolding of Norwich University is heralded as the New England Division II/III Women’s Coach of the Year after setting a school record for victories (20-6-5). Bolding led the Cadets to the title game of the 2010 NCAA Women’s Division III Ice Hockey Championships in just their third year at varsity status. In addition to repeating as ECAC East Tournament champions, Bolding’s peers voted him the Division III Women’s Ice Hockey Coach of the Year on March 24.

Before taking over the women’s program, Bolding served as an assistant to Norwich men’s coach, Mike McShane, who was named New England Division II/III Men’s Coach of the Year. It marks the second time in history coaches from the same school have received this distinction.

The Women’s Division II/III New England All-Star team consists of six forwards, four defenseman and two goaltenders.

Sophomore Julie Fortier (23-17-40) and senior Sophie Leclerc (14-23-37) of Norwich were both named All-New England forwards after finishing third and fourth in scoring, respectively, amongst all ECAC Women’s East skaters. Sophomore Stacey Hochkins of Holy Cross joins the offense after leading all ECAC Women’s East players with a scoring line of 26-18-44. Rookie Geneva Lloyd of Amherst had a breakout freshman season, finishing third in the NESCAC scoring charts with a line of 9-21-30. Middlebury’s Anna McNally directed all NESCAC skaters in scoring with a conference-best total of 37 points (16-21-37). Junior Kim Weiss of Trinity rounds out the All-New England forward contingent after totaling 28 points (14-14-28), tied for ninth in the league.

Switching gears to the blue liners, junior Laura Komarek of Trinity heads off the All-New England defensive unit after finishing second in NESCAC scoring with a mark of 5-26-31. Senior Kirsten Dier of Amherst earned All-New England honors after tallying 22 points (7-15-22) while sophomore Amanda Wilks of Norwich was penciled in for her 22 points (9-13-22) in her second season with the Cadets. Junior Randi Zukas from Amherst solidifies the All-New England defense with her 6-23-29 line, tied for fourth in scoring amongst all NESCAC icers.

Joining Iwachiw as an All-New England goaltender is sophomore Teraysa White of New England College.  White finished with an 11-13-3 record, with a goals against average of 2.01. The Belgrade, Maine native stopped 709-of-761 shots (.932) in her second season backstopping the Pilgrims.

2009-10 Women's Div. II/III New England All-Stars
Goalies Isabel Iwachiw, Trinity
Teraysa White, New England College
Defense Kirsten Dier, Amherst
Laura Komarek, Trinity
Amanda Wilks, Norwich
Randi Zukas, Amherst
Forwards Julie Fortier, Norwich
Stacey Hochkins, Holy Cross
Sophie Leclerc, Norwich
Geneva Lloyd, Amherst
Anna McNally, Middlebury
Kim Weiss, Trinity

Div. II/III Coach of the Year
Mark Bolding, Norwich

Div. II/III Player of the Year
Isabel Iwachiw, Trinity


Return to | Web site presented by Pack Network